Latest News

William Frederick WRATHALL   31/12/1926 – 13/01/2019

NARBTPO Honorary Life Member and retired PC William Frederick WRATHALL sadly passed away on Friday 13th January 2019 in Chelmsford Hospital aged 92 years.

William was stationed at Newhaven Harbour when he retired in 1982/3. It is believed that he also served at Liverpool Street in the late 1950s/early 1960’s

William’s funeral will take place at Colchester Crematorium, Mersea  Road, Colchester  CO2 8RU at 11.45 on Friday 25th January 2019 anyone who knew William and wishes to attend will be very welcome.

The family have asked that any donations in lieu of flowers be made to either Cancer Research UK or The Martlets Hospice, Hove, E.Sussex.

William is survived by his daughter, and son, Chris.

This information has just been passed to us by Dave Hoare.

Ernest 'Dixie' Deane lived in Northfleet, Kent died in hospital on 15 June 2018, his wife Marion died a few months later on 21 November in a Nursing Home in Chislehurst, Kent.

Ernest served in the RAF between 1950 and 1952. He joined the BTP in 1952 and served at Broad Street, Bishopsgate, Kings Cross (Goods & Passenger) and finally at Stratford.

Post retirement Ernest worked as a part time caretaker and also undertook voluntary hospice work as well as being an active supporter of the RNLI. His leisure pursuits was Indoor and Outdoor bowls.

Having reached and passed the age of 80 years Ernest was an Hon Life Member of NARBTPO.

It has been reported by an EX TVP coleague, the death of BTP retired Police Sergeant David TURK. David served with Thames Valley Police before transferring to British Transport Police. He was medically retired some years ago and died at his home in Devon on Wednesday 19th December 2018, aged 70yrs following a short battle with cancer.

No information yet about the date/location of the funeral

We have just been advised that Mike Gale who originally worked for Sealink at Dover, Stranraer and Holyhead before joining BTP at FHQ in the 1990's Mike joined BTP at FHQ in the 1990'sworking in the finance department as an Internal auditor
I think this is a misinterpretation of the notice put out by Sealink Retired Staff Association. Mike joined BTP at Force HQ in the early 1990's in the Finance Department as an Internal Auditor. Subsequently he filled various roles in the HQ Finance Department until he retired.

He was not a member of NARBTPO.

His funeral will take place at Barham Crematorium (near Canterbury) 1400 on Thursday 17 January 2019

Seven BTP colleagues honoured by The Queen in New Year celebrations
Seven British Transport Police (BTP) officers and staff are to be recognised by Her Majesty The Queen as part of the New Year’s Honours.

The seven colleagues, who collectively contributed more than 100 years to policing, have been honoured for distinguished service, outstanding influence on policing or for acts of extreme bravery. They are:

William Bryden, who is based in London, is awarded an OBE.
Richard Gill, who is based in London, is awarded a MBE.
Alan Smith, who was based in Kent, is awarded a BEM.
PCSO Lewis Brown, who is based in Manchester, is awarded a BEM.
PCSO Jon Morrey, who is based in Manchester, is awarded a BEM.
PC Mark Renshaw, who is based in Manchester, is awarded a BEM.
PC Jessica Bullough, who is based in Manchester, is awarded a QPM.

PC Jess Bullough, PC Mark Renshaw*, PCSO Jon Morrey and PCSO Lewis Brown, were each on duty at Manchester Victoria station on 22 May last year when the blast at the Arena happened. On hearing screams, all four ran towards danger and to scenes of devastation, they were the first emergency service personnel on scene. Throughout the tragedy, the team of four worked heroically in getting the injured to safety and calling for backup. They’ve each been recognised for exemplary levels of bravery.

William Bryden has worked in policing for more than 40 years and with BTP since 2004 in a variety of roles, but has specialised in forensic recovery, in particular disaster victim identification. William has worked on a number of high profile incidents during his years of service, including the Potters Bar train crash, Boxing Day Tsunami, Hillsborough disaster, the terrorist attacks at London Bridge and Manchester Arena and the Grenfell Tower fire. He is recognised for the passion, dedication and professional he has shown during his years of service.

Richard (Dick) Gill is another BTP veteran, having worked for the Force for 42 years as a police officer and more recently as a member of police staff. Throughout his career he has been a pioneer for racial diversity, challenging prejudice in the policing sector and cultivating inclusivity in all areas. Richard has also worked hard on tackling crime head on and was commended in 1992 for his work in cutting robberies on the London Underground.

As a special police sergeant, Alan Smith volunteered his time to support and protect passengers and railway staff on the south east London and Kent rail network. Alan has contributed more than 3,100 during his years of service. He is a tenacious crime fighter and is dedicated to keeping people safe and reassuring the travelling public. Alan is highly respected amongst his colleagues and is always willing to volunteer his spare time, a true role model for BTP’s special constabulary.

Chief Constable Paul Crowther, said: “What a truly outstanding achievement to see seven members of British Transport Police recognised by Her Majesty as part of her New Year’s Honours. Each colleague has showcased the very best in British policing, serving their communities to the very highest standard. They should each be very proud.

The Chairman and the NARBTPO committee wish to thank our members and their families for your support.
We wish you all a very Happy Christmas and a prosperous and healthy 2019.

From Martyn Ripley

‘ The recent Retired Lines outlines the method to be used in submitting the attached nomination form. Which must be received by 10th January 2019. The responsibility for posting is yours and any form not received by the closing date is not the responsibility of the Secretary’